Reviews



Un havre de paix incontournable - Rating 5/5

C\'est la 3ème fois que nous descendons à Ashdene House et cette fois ci en compagnie de nos grands enfants, et ce ne sera pas la dernière. Lieu idéalement placé pour découvrir Edimbourg, dans le calme, le confort, la sérénité et l\'excellent accueil de Mme DAULBY.

Reviewer: Mr. COUFFINHAL Jean-Paul | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Comfortable quiet Housing - Rating 5/5

I really liked the attentive service in the ashdene house provided by Mrs. Caroline Daulby. Every question we had was answered and the cleanliness of the room was very good too. The breakfast was astounding and keeps full till evening. The only thing I would give as a feedback is, that the Internet connection was not always stable and could be better. Other than that, everything was good and the bus was not so far away either. I definitely recommended this housing to my family and friends. Thanks for having us, see you again next time!

Response

Thank you for taking time to write this. We shall be happy to see you in the future. Internet issues are coming from outside the house and we are working to get any issues corrected. Kind regards Caroline

Reviewer: Maria Mikeli | Fri 26th May 2017


Thumbs Up! - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to stay at Ashdene House! Some things I can mention as to why....the room and bathroom were immaculate, which is so important for myself when away on holiday. Location wise, it was about a half an hour walk from the Royal Mile, or a quick and easy bus ride. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, and seemed to include everything, such as yougurt, oats and fruit to a hearty egg and sausage meal. Lastly, Caroline was as kind, helpful and professional as can be. I could not have found a better place to stay for my first experience in Scotland and would love to come back during my next visit!

Response

Thank you Maiya, it was our pleasure to look after you. We\'d love to see you again and very happy to hear that Ashdene House lived up to expectations.

Reviewer: Maiya Praegel | Tue 23rd May 2017


Weekend 18th to 20th November 2016 - Rating 5/5

Dear David and Caroline I enjoyed my stay very much at Ashdene House. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable and the breakfast great. It was good to wait in the lounge for my children to arrive after constant late university nights. Thank you and until next time, Kind regards Ted

Response

Thank you for taking time to review our Guest House. Glad you enjoyed your weekend and the rugby match. Best wishes, David & Caroline

Reviewer: Ted Tylee | Mon 21st Nov 2016


Loved our stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much! The place was in a great location. It was very cute and everything was very clean and inviting. We enjoyed the quiet little neighborhood feel and felt very safe walking around. The staff was so friendly and breakfast was also great. We would recommend to family and friends for sure!

Response

Thank you for your review and for recommending Ashdene House. It was lovely to meet you both and be part of your first experience of Scotland. Well done in braving the elements and enjoying a game of golf!

Reviewer: Katie Roosenberg | Sun 20th Nov 2016


best guest house - Rating 5/5

honestly Ashdene house is a 5 stars place to stay in. من أفضل وأنظف الفنادق التي أقمت بها امانه

Response

Thank you very much for your review. Best wishes for your new home. Caroline

Reviewer: Mohammed Almuzian | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Excellent and polite service!

Response

Thank you! We hope you can come back to Edinburgh one day.

Reviewer: Kirsi Swan | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Sehr schönes Gästehaus - Rating 5/5

Ich habe eine tolle Zeit im Ashdene House verbracht, nach einem schlechten Start in einer anderen Unterkunft konnte ich schnell und unkompliziert einschecken. Es ist sehr sauber, es wird ein leckeres Frühstück frisch zubereitet. Die Lage ist ruhig, sicher und dennoch ziemlich Zentral. Mitdem Bus sind es keine 10minuten ins Zentrum. Zu fuß dauert es was länger. Ich würde immer wieder buchen!

Response

Danke !! We hope to see you in the future.

Reviewer: Miss. Kristin Janssen | Mon 25th Jul 2016


Great Edinburgh B&B - Rating 5/5

Very quiet location. Would have thought we were the only ones there during visit. This is not on a busy street. Great breakfast. Ultra clean. Easy walk to bus lines to downtown. Close to great pubs with great food. My second stay at Ashdene House.

Response

Thank you for your review. All of our guest rooms were occupied! Did you notice in the newspaper that the Queen, during her visit to Edinburgh last week, chose to eat at the same pub as you, but not on the same evening.

Reviewer: Ms. Kathy McLean | Wed 20th Jul 2016


とっても快適です。 - Rating 5/5

とてもお部屋が清潔で大変快適な3泊でした。 シングルルームの部屋は、トランクがギリギリ広げられる感じですが、天井が高く、窓もあるので開放的です。バスルームは、シャワーのみですが、こちらも非常に綺麗にされており気持ちがいいです。シャワー湯量、暖かさもパーフェクトです。 女主人のキャロラインさんが大変フレンドリーで英語のつたない私にもいろいろ声をかけてくださり快適にすごせました。 また、朝食会場が大変ステキで手入れされたお庭を見ながら、ご主人が作るおいしい朝食が最高です。朝食は、ジューツ、シリアル、ヨーグルト、フルーツがあり、ホットミールは、トラでディッショナルブレックファーストです。これがまたおいしい! 環境も非常によいエリアで、住宅街なので静かですし、徒歩圏内にスーパー、パブ、レストラン、ガソリンスタンド、バス停があります。 バスも本数はそれなりにあり、駅周辺までも10分程度で行けます。 徒歩圏内にアーサーズシートがあります。 またエジンバラに訪れるときは、こちらに泊まりたいと思います。

Response

ありがとうございました Thank you! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.

Reviewer: Mutsumi Suganuma | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much, we liked to stay at your House! Great breakfast, very clean and your\'re very friendly! I think i\'ll come back :-)

Response

Hope your hiking injury gets better soon and that we see you again. It was our pleasure to meet you both.

Reviewer: CLAUDIA STEINER | Fri 10th Jun 2016


Super - Rating 4/5

Een super overnachting gehad in dit hotel. mooie ruime kamer en een heerlijk ontbijt

Response

Translation: \" A super stay in this hotel . nice spacious room , great breakfast \" dank u voor uw beoordeling. Wij hopen u weer te zien .

Reviewer: Harm Haan | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Quiet and pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

very very quiet, lovely room and very tastefull breakfast For our next Edimburg travel, we expect to stay back in Ashdene House Kindly Regards

Response

It was lovely to see you back at Ashdene House and we look forward to the next next time! We will try and arrange the same great weather for your return. You were so lucky to experience such beautiful sunny days in early May.

Reviewer: Mr. COUFFINHAL Jean-Paul | Sun 15th May 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, comfortable, quiet.

Reviewer: Mr. Nick Bailey | Sat 14th May 2016


A great stay - Rating 5/5

Our host at Ashedene House made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good, we had lots of options to choose from. Caroline was helpful with all of our questions. The entire house was very clean, furnished and decorated with a lot of taste. We would love to stay again.

Response

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our home in the future!

Reviewer: Bertold Trösken | Wed 11th May 2016


Ashdene House in the Grange - Rating 5/5

We spent a fabulous May bank holiday weekend here. It was clean, modern and well maintained. The owners are friendly, helpful and informative. There was a tasty varied breakfast every morning. We look forward to staying here again.

Reviewer: Ruth Akato-appiah | Fri 6th May 2016


Simply lovely - Rating 5/5

I had another lovely stay with \'The Daulby\'s\' this week and I cannot recommend this cosy home from home enough. Close enough to the City to walk if you wish, yet in a quiet residential area. The breakfasts are made to order and never fail to delight

Response

Thank you! We do our best to accommodate our business customers requirements eg breakfast from 07:00, ironing facilities, free wi-fi etc. Hope to see you soon again.

Reviewer: Barry Mattthews | Thu 14th Apr 2016


Perfect long weekend - Rating 5/5

Quite, friendly accommodation not far to the city canter. We really enjoy that time there.

Response

Thank you for taking time to review our Guest House. We hope you will visit again soon. There\'s lots more to see in Edinburgh and we have lots of festivals coming up!

Reviewer: Zsolt Nemeth | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Mrs - Rating 5/5

We had a pleasent and comfortable time at Ashdene House. Excellent breakfast. We would like to come back

Response

We will be very pleased to see you again and glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Scotland and Edinburgh. There\'s so much more to explore!

Reviewer: Mrs. Katrine Ørnstrup | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Highly recommend! - Rating 5/5

Very nice rooms, delicious breakfast, and great service. From booking to checkout, everything went smoothly. Would highly recommend

Response

We are happy that you enjoyed your first experience of Hogmanay in Edinburgh and that you managed to take part in a variety of the activities on offer throughout the city! Hopefully the fact that you booked at www.ashdenehouse.com and were entitled to Free Bus Travel, assisted you in accessing everything you wanted to see. All the best for 2016.

Reviewer: Mr. Chris Dixon | Mon 4th Jan 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming,exceptionally clean,great location,could not have asked for more

Reviewer: Peter Barwick | Mon 16th Nov 2015


An excellent hotel within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre. - Rating 5/5

A beautiful, very clean and well presented hotel. We received a warm welcome from Caroline, the owner, and our room was spacious, very clean and contained everything required to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful especially the home made porridge and was served in the conservatory overlooking the garden. The hotel is located on a leafy, residential street with free parking. Regular buses travel into Edinburgh along the nearby main road but we walked (about 20 minutes) taking in the sights and sounds on our journey. Plenty of eating places nearby. All in all a very luxurious, very clean and very welcoming hotel. A perfect base to explore Edinburgh.

Reviewer: David Hayman | Sun 1st Nov 2015


We like it! - Rating 5/5

stylish rooms, rich breakfast, helpful people

Response

We look forward to seeing you when you make your second trip to Scotland!

Reviewer: Thomas Bracht | Sat 31st Oct 2015


Perfect place - Rating 5/5

Ashdene House is in an ideal location within 15 mins bus of the centre but in a quiet side street. The room was well furnished and equipped, the breakfast was lovely and the host(ess) a pleasure. Warmly recommended.

Response

By making another booking with us, you confirmed that you were happy here! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewer: Clive Lawton | Sat 24th Oct 2015


Welcoming stay at Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

Carloine was very gracious in looking after us all, answering our questions and showing us the ropes of visiting Edinburgh. Ashen House is very close to the bus route that takes you right into historic Edinburgh as well as the train station. It is also an essay cab ride from the airport. Thanks for the memories.

Response

It was lovely to see you both at Ashdene House again and to meet your grandchildren. Until the next time..., best wishes, Caroline

Reviewer: Mr. Roy Strickland | Fri 4th Sep 2015


Eine perfekte Unterkunft in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Wir haben Ashdene House für eine ganze Woche gebucht und würden es wieder tun. Das Haus ist sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, die Betten sind sehr bequem, das Zimmer war hell, freundlich und sehr praktisch eingerichtet, außerdem sehr sauber und komfortabel. Caroline Daulby hat uns jeden Morgen mit einem herrlichen full scottish breakfast verwöhnt. Es gab außerdem Säfte, Müsli&Co, frisches geschnittenes Obst und Naturjoghurt dazu. Das Frühstück wird im Wintergarten serviert und man hat einen schönen Blick in den sehr gepflegen Garten. Mrs.Daulby ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, organisiert auch Trockenmöglichkeiten, wenn man doch vom Regen erwischt wurde und keine trockene Kleidung und Schuhe mehr hat. Ihre Restaurantempfehlungen sind goldwert. Die Busanbindung ist perfekt. Das Haus liegt in einer ruhigen Wohngegend, d.h. man kann nachts das Fenster offen lassen und wird nicht vom Straßenlärm gestört.

Response

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir freuen uns sehr zu hören, dass Sie möchten, um zu unserem Guest House zurück. Es ist eine Schande , dass Sie die feuchtesten Nacht beschlossen, das Military Tattoo besuchen, aber wir versprechen Ihnen besseres Wetter zum nächsten Mal! Besten Wünsche Bis zum nächsten Mal David & Caroline

Reviewer: Mr. Frank Pesslies | Tue 1st Sep 2015


a verry nice guest house - Rating 5/5

We were well looked after by Caroline. She offered a verry good breakfast. She informed us, what we have to see in Edinburgh and helped us to book a bus tour into the highlands. Thank you verry much from Bettina and Falko from Germany

Response

It was our pleasure to look after you both and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Caroline

Reviewer: Bettina Hackert | Sun 30th Aug 2015


Charmant - Rating 5/5

Maison d\'hôtes tranquille idéalement situés à proximité des bus. Notre hôtesse est charmante et prend bien soin de nous.

Response

Merci beaucoup! Caroline

Reviewer: Thérèse Rochat | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Ashdene House is a pearl - Rating 5/5

We are indeed very satisfied with our stay at Ashdene House, witch will give a fine memory of our days in Edinburgh. The room is exactly what you need: Comfortable bed, a clean and fine bathroom. The nice and delicious breakfast in the little winter-garden is a really good start of the day. The woman of the House was very helpful to us with different pracitical matters and tips about propriate buslines, etc. We will rerally remember our nice days at Ashdene Hous.

Response

Thank you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Edinburgh and hope to see you again in the future - there\'s so much more to see and do, even when the festival is over!

Reviewer: Lennart Forsell | Thu 20th Aug 2015


Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

Nice and cosy - breakfast was superb!

Response

Very glad to hear you enjoyed our home-made kedgeree (made with locally smoked haddock)! We like to vary our fish menu but kedgeree is proving a big hit this summer.

Reviewer: Andrew Baddeley | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Long Weekend in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Lovely Clean and comfortable guest house, with a friendly warm welcome. Great location only 1 mile from the main attractions of the city. Highly recommended will re-visit.

Response

We will be delighted to see you again. Should you like to book a particular room, then email or telephone before booking and we will advise which rooms are available, and of course, you will receive free bus travel during your stay if you book direct with us. Best wishes David & Caroline

Reviewer: Dave Austin | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Perfect location and immaculately presented guest house - Rating 5/5

This guest house was perfect for easy access to the city centre via a 20 minute walk or short bus ride. The accommodation was immaculate and the facilities spot on, always a pleasant surprise to find decaf coffee available!

Response

We only drink decaf in our family so always have a selection of both caf and decaf tea and coffee available! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Caroline

Reviewer: Mrs Sue Wilson | Mon 29th Jun 2015


visit for leisure - Rating 4/5

excellent accommodation

Reviewer: Walter Fugazza | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


unforgettable beautiful place - Rating 5/5

I spent a whole week time in Ashdene House for both leisure and business trip. I surprised on such clean, beautiful and lovely B&B. Landlady is very nice. I always left early and back late, but landlady was always nice and patient. More than 5 stars!

Reviewer: La Zhuo | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


Very cosy and charming - Rating 5/5

Very confortable and charming place to stay in the South of Edinburgh at 25 min waling from centre. Lots of buses going to centre. The breakfast place and food is very nice too.

Reviewer: Maite Debry | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Living in Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

nice people, friendly environment and good breakfast

Reviewer: Yuchen Yang | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay, hospitality was awesome.

Reviewer: Saurav Mukherjee | Sat 30th May 2015


Nice, cosy and warm - Rating 5/5

I\'ve spend only one night, but it have all what you need: coffe, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits, a big closet, a very comfortable bed, ... The room is very clean and the breakfast is excellent! And of course the staff is very nice. I only can recommend you!!

Reviewer: Eduärd MacSalla | Sun 17th May 2015


3 day city break - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed 3 night short break.We stayed here 5 years ago and we delighted to find that everything was as good as we remembered. immaculate accommodation maintained to a very high standard. lovely breakfasts with good choice and helpful hosts who can recommend places to visit. Can highly recommend this B and B in a quiet residential area.

Response

Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. It was good to hear you enjoyed your visits to some \"off the beaten track\" areas of our beautiful city - particularly colourful just now with lots of cherry blossom lining the streets.

Reviewer: Mr A Leyland -room 2 | Fri 1st May 2015


Fab - Rating 5/5

I enjoy every minutes in your place like a true family thanks miss and mr dulnby

Reviewer: Maya Torres | Tue 28th Apr 2015


Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

Ashdene House is located in a quiet neighbourhood (Newington, Mayfield) south of the city center but the latter is reached easily by public transport. The rooms are not large but everything anyone would ever need is there. The place is immaculately clean. The ample breakfast ensures the right start of the day.

Response

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you in Edinburgh soon again. Just to be clear to future guests reading this, we are in the district known as The Grange which borders Newington to the east, Morningside to the west, Marchmont and Sciennes to the north and Blackford to the south. All of our rooms differ in size due to the layout of the house. If you have a specific room you would like to book, then please email or phone us and we will be do our best to accommodate your request.

Reviewer: Frank Blockhuys | Mon 27th Apr 2015


Front Attic Room - Rating 4/5

Lovelly clean and bright room with fantastic view onto Arthurs seat. Room very spacious with very comfortable bed and sofa. Great shower and other facilities. Breakfast one of the best with fantastic selection and lovelly vegetarian hagis.

Reviewer: Dr. Krasimira Tsaneva | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Relaxed Comfort - Rating 4/5

Truly lovely guest-house, room comfortable with fine en-suite. Good options for breakfast in the conservatory. I have no hesitation in recommending Ashdene House.

Response

Thank you for your review. We hope that you can stay longer next time and experience more of our breakfast menu.

Reviewer: Mr. Douglas Cameron | Sun 5th Apr 2015


amazing Stay - Rating 5/5

Location is in a calm and classy street and very close to city center. Very clean and tidy rooms . Owners are very friendly and helpful

Response

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can accommodate you again in the future. There\'s so much more to see in Edinburgh than you had time for on your short visit. Best wishes, Caroline

Reviewer: Tony Daher | Mon 5th Jan 2015


recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights while on business. Very clean b and b. Plenty on street free parking. I was leaving early and was not having breakfast and was left orange juice, a cereal bar and \'oats so simple\' tub in my room beside my tea/coffee tray- a very nice touch. Lovely comfy bed.

Reviewer: Jacqueline Hurry | Sat 13th Dec 2014


Loved it. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay. Can\'t wait to do it again.

Response

We look forward to seeing you both again and hope you have more time to explore all the attractions of Edinburgh and perhaps take a day trip to the Highlands. Best wishes for the Festive Season, Caroline

Reviewer: Julio Maya | Wed 10th Dec 2014


Feedback - Rating 5/5

Excellent, spotless, friendly, helpful and lovely breakfast. The bus passes are very useful for a hassle free transport service. Would highly recomend.

Response

Thank you! Yes, book direct at www.ashdenehouse.com or call us, and receive free bus passes to travel throughout Edinburgh - parking in the city centre is very expensive and not very easy. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes for the Festive Season, Caroline

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Hodge | Mon 8th Dec 2014


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Probably the best guest house I have stayed in. The whole house is beautifully decorated and in excellent condition, the room was spotless and very comfortable, had all amenities (even a hot water bottle!) and in working condition. Excellent breakfast including buffet of fresh fruit salad, yogurt, cereals, etc, basket of toast on the table, plus choice of cooked breakfasts and porridge. Everything I had was delicious. The owner is lovely, the location great - a peaceful residential street with local shops - and the excellent Earthy\'s farm shop and cafe just round the corner. If I go back to Edinburgh I won\'t even bother looking for somewhere different to stay unless Ashdene House is fully booked.

Response

Thank you for your review. Remember to book direct at www.ashdenehouse.com or call us, for your next visit and receive free bus travel with Lothian Buses throughout Edinburgh during your stay! Not sure if you tried our other local eating places but we have a great variety of good quality restaurants and pubs which serve food, within 5 minutes walk. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Reviewer: Vivienne Richmond | Mon 10th Nov 2014


Excellant Guest House - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 3 nights could not fault at all. Large room and beautiful bathroom. All you could ask for at breakfast. Bus stop into City just round corner. Caroline very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Patricia Reay | Mon 6th Oct 2014


Gepflegtes Haus an ruhiger Lage in Stadtnähe - Rating 5/5

Das Ashdene House ist ein wunderbar ruhiges und gepflegtes Bed and Breakfast mit sehr freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Gastgebern. Das City Center ist mit dem Bus oder auch fussläufig einfach zu erreichen. Perfekt ist auch die Nähe zum Hollyroodpark. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut und reichhaltig.Ich kann das Haus uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen.

Reviewer: Alexandra Rechsteiner | Tue 30th Sep 2014


Quiet, Cozy and very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Lo9vely location and breakfast. very friendly. Comfortoble bed with beautiful garden views and very clean. Free and easy parking. Very highly recommended.

Reviewer: Marco Rivolta | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Great place - Rating 5/5

Exellent. Great hospitality, lovely breakfast, absolutly clean and good location.

Reviewer: Claes Bjerkne | Mon 8th Sep 2014


Feels like home! - Rating 5/5

This charming B&B is really outstanding! Cleanliness, comfort, coziness, delicious breakfast with a delightful view to the gardens, everything you may possibly need to feel pampered as if at home is kindly provided with joy by Caroline, the lovely proprietor! I highly recommend it!

Reviewer: Vanessa Terezinha Tha | Fri 5th Sep 2014


Like at home - Rating 5/5

As always, our stay was great ! It was like at home or even better ! Thanks a lot for all. Cheers ! Claude.

Response

It is always nice to see guests returning again and again - they become old friends!

Reviewer: Mr. Claude Mancini | Thu 14th Aug 2014


most excellent - Rating 5/5

We had a brilliant stay at Ashdene House. It's in a quiet part of the city yet wonderfully easy to get into the centre, and there are excellent restaurants very close by. The house is stunning, huge rooms, high ceilings, carefully decorated to be smart yet homely and comfortable. It was absolutely spotless and the showers were amazing, really good. Breakfast was lovely, with a choice on the menu, and landlady Caroline could answer everything we asked about buses, trains, local attractions etc etc etc. This was hotel standard with a welcoming, relaxing and convivial b and b feel. We were most impressed and appreciated Caroline's courteous and friendly, but not over familiar, manner.

Reviewer: Ms. Silver | Thu 14th Aug 2014


nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay in a quiet area, with good transport links to the town centre which is 10 minutes away on the bus. Very welcoming and clean and a great choice for breakfast in the morning. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Jackie Byers | Tue 12th Aug 2014


Stayed July 2014 - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the self catering apartment. It was lovely and clean. There was a nice range of food for the first day breakfast. Thanks for everything.

Reviewer: Mrs. Janet Foster | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Wonderfull - Rating 5/5

Always clean, big room, delicious breakfast! Very close to holyrood park and a few minutes to Edinburgh center and train station. And the very charismatic Mrs. Caroline.

Reviewer: Mrs. Juliana Lourenço | Tue 5th Aug 2014


Excellent service. - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every way, clean, comfortable with an excellent breakfast. Would certainly stay there again.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Martin | Sat 12th Jul 2014


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean and well equipped rooms with some beautiful views of Edinburgh. Excellent breakfast and immaculate service. I'd return in an instant.

Reviewer: Mr J Weir | Sat 12th Jul 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Very quiet. Nice walk from the city center.

Response

Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is nice to hear that our house was all that you expected for in your visit to our city. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Outer Isles and that you will return to Edinburgh soon again. Kind regards David & Caroline

Reviewer: Miss. Esther Guridi | Wed 9th Jul 2014


An address to remember... - Rating 5/5

Expect a very warm welcome in a charming and cosy house. The bedrooms are very comfortable with all what is needed for a pleasant stay, including a working Wi-Fi connection. The breakfast is marvellous and cooked at your request. It includes fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, coffee and/or tea and much more. The house is located just outside the old city centre of Edinburgh in a quite neighbourhood, so no issues with street noise or any of that sort. And getting to the city is fast and easy by bus. We took a day ticket which you can ask for at the owner of the B&B. We had a great stay and strongly recommend this place for people looking for a comfortable and quite accommodation, with more than sufficient privacy.

Response

It was very kind of you to take the time to write this. Thanks. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer: Rudy Buyck | Thu 12th Jun 2014


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were made to feel welcome and offered much helpful advice. The room (No 5) was immaculate, comfy and spacious; the en suite was extremely clean and well equipped. Breakfasts were also well prepared and presented with plenty of choices. Located in a pleasant, quiet road, Ashdene House is well situated for exploring Edinburgh. While it would be walkable, the numerous buses take you direct to the heart of Edinburgh - with free bus passes from the owner! A thoroughly enjoyable stay for two nights; would definitely recommend to others and hope to use again.

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Howse | Tue 10th Jun 2014


Congratulation for your hotel - Rating 5/5

Thank you Caroline for your kindness! Your hotel is one of the beat i have ever seven!

Reviewer: Mr. Giangiuseppe Dalena | Tue 10th Jun 2014


classy hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is beautiful, the room was fantastic and The owner was extremely helpful.

Reviewer: Joana Arina | Mon 9th Jun 2014


feedback - Rating 5/5

excellent immaculately clean nice and quiet as off main roads very comfortable bed

Reviewer: Mrs. Helen Schubert | Sat 7th Jun 2014


Just lovely - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at Ashdene House. It is absolutely first class: immaculately kept; comfortable; friendly hosts; great food; good evening meal venues close by; quiet area; close to town (we walked in most days)although bus tickets are provided for your stay. We will keep going back. The Daulbys make this very high level of service look easy.

Response

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Reviewer: Mr. Jeremy Hawksley | Mon 2nd Jun 2014


Excellent guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Ideal location, very friendly and helpful staff, cosy and clean rooms in a very well communicated yet calm street.

Response

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you in Edinburgh again soon.

Reviewer: Carlos Gonzalez Fernandez | Thu 22nd May 2014


Stay at Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

The stay at Ashdene House was fabulous. It will be my choice for visits to Edinburgh in the future. Ashdene House is a comfortable distance from busy city center (though still close enough), allowing for restful nights and peaceful breakfasts in Caroline's lovely conservatory. She served us delicious food as well as knowledgeable information, so appreciated on a first visit to Scotland!

Reviewer: Ms. Tambria Kelley | Mon 19th May 2014


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is most comfortable guest house and the owner's very welcoming. I was staying alone, but it felt very homely.

Response

Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your colleagues.

Reviewer: Mrs. Sarah Moss | Sat 10th May 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Everything was great (availability of the hostess, cleanliness and comfort of the room, excellent breakfast, ...).

Response

Thank you for your review. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around Scotland and find lots of nice places to visit on your next holiday!

Reviewer: Laurent Monti | Thu 8th May 2014


Very good - Rating 4/5

Very nice guest house: room was very good. People were very and and helpful. Great breakfast!

Response

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh.

Reviewer: Martine Borst | Thu 1st May 2014


Great Stay and Experience - Rating 5/5

I stayed with my daughter at the Ashdene House on a visit to our Dad and Grandad who is ill and living in Edinburgh. The Daulbys at the Ashdene House were great and made us feel at home. The breakfast was excellent. The room was very comfortable.

Response

Thank you for our response. We hope you got home safely and have recovered from the journey. Best wishes David & Caroline

Reviewer: Ms. Cynthia Bennett | Sun 23rd Mar 2014


Fantastic host - Rating 5/5

We had a whale of a time in Edinburgh. Not least because of this small but excellent hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the winter garden was brilliant. But the most important, we did really appreciate the very friendly host. Thanks Caroline!

Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and glad that you enjoyed the New Year experience in our beautiful city.

Reviewer: Thomas Knaack | Thu 9th Jan 2014


Delightful & friendly - Rating 5/5

I fully enjoyed my stay at Ashdene House. Caroline Daulby is a charming and delightful hostess. The accommodations are quite nice and breakfast was wonderful. I quite liked being in a neighborhood. The bus stop is only a few minutes walk from the house. Though it's not quite 2 miles to the High Street, it's very walkable with the opportunity to duck into a variety of shops or wander off the main streets to explore.

Reviewer: Ms. Elaine Roberts | Fri 3rd Jan 2014


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

I found the experience very relaxing and quite enjoyable. The hosts were wonderful and the amenities were great. If I return to Edinburgh, I will definitely look forward to returning to this B&B again.

Reviewer: Mr. William Laney | Mon 11th Nov 2013


wonderful - Rating 5/5

It is a beautiful and little b&b hotel with a lovely and charming owner.

Reviewer: Florian Hasenbein | Tue 5th Nov 2013


Ashdene House - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous stay at Ashdene House and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Edinburgh. It is very clean and comfortable and an extensive breakfast menu, which was excellent. We were also issiued with Lothian bus passes for the duration of our stay which we used constantly. There are numurous bus stops just a short walk from the guest house. being just outside of the city the guest house is in a quiet area but very accessable for the city and surrounding areas. Thankyou so much.

Response

Thank you for taking time to write this and glad to hear that your bus passes helped you enjoy the city and surroundings.

Reviewer: Mrs. Carol Morris | Mon 28th Oct 2013


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had room 5 for 9 nights and we couldn't ask for better hosts. The room was immaculate, breakfast was what you would expect from a 5 star hotel and as for the hosts they couldn't do enough for you. If you are ever in Edinburgh we suggest you stay here if you want a fantastic stay.we are going back next year.

Response

It was lovely to see you again and to hear about your day trips around Scotland. Lots to plan for your next trip so you can see even more!

Reviewer: Rosemary Hollis | Thu 24th Oct 2013


Ashdene self-catering - Rating 5/5

I stayed at one of Ashdene's self-catering properties recently, with my elderly mother. The flat was spacious, spick and span, and had absolutely everything provided that you could possibly think of. It was nicely furnished, everything up to date, warm and cosy, and even a lovely vase of carnations to greet us on arrival. I would strongly recommend Ashdene self-catering. It is excellent.

Response

Thank you for your review. Glad the accommodation met your needs, being on the ground floor and with a bus stop across the road.

Reviewer: Ms. Pauline Fraser | Wed 23rd Oct 2013


A pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

It was a nice and pleasant stay at ashdene house. Quiet, clean with a breakfast of high Quality.

Reviewer: Mr. Joerg Munk | Sat 12th Oct 2013


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Myself and my cousin stayed here on Sept 20/13 and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and breakfast was fantastic (first time I knew vegetarian haggis existed and it was good). The staff was very friendly and accomodating, allowing us to leave our bags there after check-out so we could go into town while waiting to go visit friends near Arthurs Seat. A selection of resturants are located near by as are bus routes that took us into town. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Reviewer: Ms. Tracey Dean | Thu 26th Sep 2013


To recommend - Rating 5/5

Great House, the room was more than clean, wifi worked, the host was really helpful with adivsed tips and the breakfast perfect (large choice of bread-cereal-fresh fruit and cooked dishes)

Response

I'll think up some more interesting tips for your next visit! Thanks for your review.

Reviewer: Miss. Karlyn Grossenbacher | Sun 22nd Sep 2013


Best breakfast! - Rating 5/5

Caroline was very friendly and helpful. Ashdene House is in a good location. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. The breakfast, served in a lovely conservatory, was excellent! I would definitely stay again.

Response

We will look forward to seeing you again, when you get a chance. Lots more to see and do here and through the rest of Scotland! Thank you for your review.

Reviewer: Ms. Keturah Whitford | Thu 19th Sep 2013


A very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

The house was over our espectations. We stayed there for 5 days, the room was big and carefully equipped. Caroline was really nice and helped us with indications. The location is a quiet place very close to the city centre, 15 min walk.

Response

Thank you for writing a review. We hope you will come back to Edinburgh again, as there's lots more to see!

Reviewer: Virginia Sánchez Arias | Thu 22nd Aug 2013


For the Fringe - Rating 5/5

As first time visitors to Edinburgh we chose Ashdene House for its location, close enough to the centre to walk (20 mins at good pace) but far enough away to avoid the noise. I am happy to say we intend to book again for next year. Great food, very, very clean and we were made to feel welcome. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable and sending us out to the fringe festival with the best breakfast north of the boarder. Mark & Donna.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this. We will be delighted to accommodate you next year. Remember to book early! Kind regards Caroline

Reviewer: Mr. Mark Sims | Mon 19th Aug 2013


So good - Rating 5/5

Our stay was great and unforgettable. The room was perfect, the breakfasts were delicious and the consideration was very pleasant. Ashdene house definitely deserves to be recommended.

Reviewer: Mr. Jean-paul Vareillaud | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Thank you! - Rating 4/5

My daughter and I stayed at Ashdene-House for 10 days. Everything was great, especially Mrs. Daulby,who was very friendly.If we will come back to Edinburgh, we hope to stay at Ashdene-House again.

Response

There's still so much more to see and do in Edinburgh, even after 10 days here. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Ashdene House in the future!

Reviewer: Renate Soppart | Tue 6th Aug 2013


Perfect place - Rating 5/5

Very lovely guest house, with excellent and flexible service! Clean, quiet and cozy. Opportunity to leisurely walk into the center. Free wifi would also be appreciated but it is a secondary.

Response

Thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated. Ashdene House offers free wi-fi everywhere in the house for all our guests! Perhaps you didn't realise this.

Reviewer: Mr. Argo Kivilo | Sun 28th Jul 2013


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable lodgings and great breakfast

Reviewer: Miss. Fiona Fairlie | Sun 28th Jul 2013


Opinión - Rating 5/5

Nuestra estadia fue muy confortable por la comodidades del departamento y su equipamiento. Asimismo, por la atención brindada por Mrs. Caroline.

Reviewer: Ricardo Jorge Fregenal | Thu 25th Jul 2013


3 - Rating 5/5

nice, quired and clean, very helpfull staff

Response

Thank you. I am glad that you found the bike storage useful for yoour rental bikes, and enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh.

Reviewer: Johannes Thuesen | Sat 20th Jul 2013


1st Trip to Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Very nice looking, extremely clean, comfortable bedding, great location in a very well kept, QUITE, neighborhood, ( upper middle class if I were to guess), tasty breakfast, and the staff was friendly and helpful too. Our walking time to downtown @ the royal mile about 45 min., could be quicker if we didn't stop and sight see, etc. Our room was on the top floor so lugging the luggage was sort of a cardio, (the wife over packs every trip). We would stay here again and recommend to our friends to stay here too. .... BTW, while not exactly a young couple, we reject the "mature" label, sorta in between.... Cheers....

Response

Thank you for taking time to write this. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your first experience of Edinburgh and hope to see you back one day. Hope the rest of your trip is just as good.

Reviewer: Mr. Tilman Reagan | Sat 13th Jul 2013


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay at Ashdene House. Rooms are clean and comfortable. A nice breakfast is served in porch with a view of a lush garden. Owners are fantastic in meeting the guest's needs. I will choose again Ashdene House when in Edinburgh.

Reviewer: Mr. Michele Fumagalli | Sun 30th Jun 2013


Very nice B&B - Rating 5/5

Everything perfect, and he staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewer: Mr. Marc Rafelski | Sun 30th Jun 2013


Lovely Ashdene House. - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The room and bathroom were very clean, which is a high priority for us. The breakfast was delicious and generous, and the owner, Caroline, was friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay there again!!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review Ashdene House. We hope to see you in Edinburgh again soon.

Reviewer: Mili Veljanovski | Tue 21st May 2013


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time in Ashdene House, beginning with a warm welcome, and complemented with a very cozy bedroom with everything we needed. The breakfast were delicious in a another beautiful place of the house. A perfect place to rest.

Response

Thank you for your response. We hope to see you both again one day.

Reviewer: Carmona | Mon 7th Jan 2013


Hogmanay Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent apartment, very modern and clean, well positioned for Edinburgh with many buses and within walking distance yet very quiet and peaceful. Free parking space right outside the apartment. Overall excellent and far outshone our expectations. Thankyou

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to accommodate 2/3/4 persons in the apartment, so bring your friends or family in the future!

Reviewer: Helen Taylor | Thu 3rd Jan 2013


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay, near centre and public transport. Very friendly and helpfull. Great breakfast. Good value for money.

Response

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Kind regards David & Caroline

Reviewer: STAAL | Wed 2nd Jan 2013